2010 Cardinals Spring Training Schedule

2010 Cardinals Spring Training Schedule

The tentative schedule for the St. Louis Cardinals' 13th spring training at the Roger Dean Stadium Complex in Jupiter, Florida is now available and season tickets are now on sale.

In a departure from past years, when schedules were not available until November and season tickets were not yet on sale, Roger Dean Stadium in Jupiter, Florida has announced the St. Louis Cardinals' tentative 2010 spring training slate of games and is taking season ticket orders.

 

The defending National League Central Division champions will play a schedule of 30 spring contests, of which 28 will be held in Florida. The Grapefruit League portion of the schedule begins on March 4 and runs though April 1, a period which includes two off-days and one split squad date.

 

The Cardinals conclude their exhibition schedule with what may be their greatest two-day climate shift ever. Upon after leaving Florida, the club will hop a flight to Minnesota. There, they will play the Twins in a pair of games christening the new outdoor Target Field in chilly downtown Minneapolis on April 2 and 3.

 

The Cardinals will then participate in the traditional NL opener in Cincinnati on Monday, April 5, playing four games in three different states over just the initial five days of April.

 

Of their 28 Florida spring contests, the Cardinals are scheduled to play 17 at Roger Dean, of which they are the home team in 14. Their Jupiter co-habitants, the Florida Marlins, are designated as the home club in the other three. Other than which club bats first and which wears whites, you'd be hard pressed to tell the difference.

 

Four home games of note are the Boston Red Sox on March 12, the Houston Astros on March 13, the Atlanta Braves on March 18 and the Minnesota Twins on March 29. Two popular spring opponents in 2009, the 2008 World Series combatants Philadelphia Phillies and Tampa Bay Rays, are both off the Cardinals spring schedule in 2010.

 

Day Date Home Visitor Time (ET)
Thursday 4-Mar Mets Cardinals 1:10
Friday 5-Mar Cardinals Mets 1:05
Saturday 6-Mar Marlins Cardinals 1:05
Sunday 7-Mar Cardinals Marlins 1:05
Monday 8-Mar Red Sox Cardinals 1:05
Tuesday 9-Mar Twins Cardinals 1:05
Wednesday 10-Mar Cardinals Nationals 1:05
Thursday 11-Mar Marlins Cardinals 1:05
Friday 12-Mar Cardinals Red Sox 1:05
Saturday 13-Mar Cardinals Astros 1:05
Sunday 14-Mar Nationals Cardinals 1:05
Monday 15-Mar Mets Cardinals 1:10
Tuesday 16-Mar Cardinals Nationals 1:05
Wednesday 17-Mar open
Thursday 18-Mar Cardinals Braves 1:05
Friday 19-Mar Marlins Cardinals# 1:05
Nationals Cardinals# 7:05
Saturday 20-Mar Cardinals Mets 1:05
Sunday 21-Mar Braves Cardinals 1:05
Monday 22-Mar Astros Cardinals 1:05
Tuesday 23-Mar open
Wednesday 24-Mar Cardinals Orioles 1:05
Thursday 25-Mar Cardinals Mets 1:05
Friday 26-Mar Nationals Cardinals 1:05
Saturday 27-Mar Cardinals Marlins 1:05
Sunday 28-Mar Mets Cardinals 1:10
Monday 29-Mar Cardinals Twins 1:05
Tuesday 30-Mar Mets Cardinals 1:10
Wednesday 31-Mar Cardinals Nationals 1:05
Thursday 1-Apr Cardinals Marlins 11:05
Friday 2-Apr Twins* Cardinals 5:10 (CT)
Saturday 3-Apr Twins* Cardinals 1:10 (CT)
# split squad
* in Minneapolis
Jupiter games

 

In terms of total match-ups, not surprisingly the teams that train nearby will play the Cardinals most often. The New York Mets, 33 miles away in Port St. Lucie, are the scheduled opponent seven times. That is one more than the Florida Marlins, who will face the Cardinals six times next spring and share the Roger Dean complex with them.

 

Having moved their spring camp away from Ft. Lauderdale, the Baltimore Orioles play the Cardinals just once after having met them eight times last spring. The Washington Nationals, the next nearest team at 110 miles away in Viera, will battle the Cardinals in six spring contests.

 

Opponent Home Away Total
Mets 3 4 7
Marlins 3 3 (Jupiter) 6
Nationals 3 3 6
Twins 1 3 (2 Mpls) 4
Astros 1 1 2
Braves 1 1 2
Red Sox 1 1 2
Orioles 1 0 1
Total 14 16 30

 

Spring "season" tickets are now on sale via the Roger Dean Stadium box office. There is also information posted on four and six-game plans. Single-game seats are not yet on sale, but are traditionally made available in early January.

 

Stay tuned for more information on tickets as well as spring radio and television broadcast schedules.

 


Brian Walton can be reached via email at brian@thecardinalnationblog.com. Also catch his Cardinals commentary daily at The Cardinal Nation blog.

 

© 2009 stlcardinals.scout.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

TheCardinalNation.com Recommended Stories


Up Next


Tweets